Africa University and its Niche in Agricultural Sciences

Africa University is a private Pan- African and United Methodist Church-Related Institution of Higher Education located in the Old Mutare Valley in Eastern Zimbabwe. The University was founded in 1992 with the objective of bringing together students from the African Continent and beyond. At any one time the University has students from over 30 African countries. The Academic programmes offering Bachelors, Masters and PhD degrees are run under three Colleges namely; The College of Health, Agriculture and Natural Sciences, The College of Business, Peace, Leadership and Governance, and the College of Social Sciences, Theology, Humanities and Education. In Zimbabwe, agriculture contributes around 20% to the gross domestic product (GDP) of the economy, and it was by design that the Agricultural Sciences Department was one of the two pioneer Faculties of the University upon its inception in 1992. The Department offers undergraduate degrees in Agribusiness Management, Agriculture and Community Development, Food Processing and Value Addition, and Agriculture and Natural Resources specializing in Crop Production, Animal Science, Horticulture, Natural Resources Management and Irrigation and Water Management.  Postgraduate degrees at Masters Level are MSc in Crop Production and MSc in Agribusiness Management. The Department also offers the Doctor of Philosophy degree in Agriculture and Natural Resources. Africa University has contributed immensely towards Africa’s manpower development needs and the University’s graduates in the field of Agricultural Sciences are serving in various capacities across the African continent and beyond.


Africa University website link:

A wheat variety (NACP114) at the University farm

Dr. Larry Kies during the practical session at the University wheat farm with students (Hope, Jane, Tanaka, Emma, and Tinashe)