Midlands State University was established through an Act of Parliament in 1999. The main campus is located in the Midlands Province, while two other campuses are in Zvishavane and Harare. The university has ten (10) faculties: Faculty of Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources Management, Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Built Environment, Art and Design, Faculty of Business Sciences, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Engineering and Geosciences, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Science and Technology and the Faculty of Social Sciences. The university has a student population of 26 000, spread across its three major campuses.  Guided by Education 5.0, Midlands State University’s education is anchored on five pillars namely, teaching, community engagement, research, innovation and industrialisation. The educational programmes at Midlands State University seek to address the demands of the 21st Century economy, particularly the fourth industrial revolution. 

The Faculty of Agriculture Environment and Natural Resources Management at Midlands State University advances sustainable agricultural development and management of natural resources through training, innovation, community engagement and generation of research- based knowledge. Our programmes address climate change issues, modern technological advancement in agriculture, data analytics and internet of things (IoT). Postgraduate programmes offered in the Faculty include Master of Science in Applied Agricultural Economics, Master of Science in Agricultural Informatics and Data Analytics, Master of Science in Horticultural Sciences, Master of Science in Crop Science, Master of Science in Crop Protection, Master of Science in Animal Breeding and Biotechnology, Master of Science in Land and Water Resources Management, Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy (DPhil).